studio catherine griffiths


“They’re gorgeously designed and produced in a small format on lovely, heavy stock, almost as pleasant to handle as to read. At its best an essay is a series of reflections on a subject which draws from, rather than conceals, the writer’s personality and personal preoccupations. Essays can be wildly digressive, presenting a range of disparate images, but what you look for is an ultimate thematic unity, a kind of tying-up which pulls all the edgy glimpses and vistas of insight into a single, coherent whole — a kind of intellectual Mobius strip ... ”

North & South magazine, November, 2002


02 book as object

»catherine griffiths : SOLO IN [ ] SPACE« A documentation Zhihua Duan [with Catherine Griffiths]
2020 / published 10/2021

A Vocabulary Bruce Connew
2017 / published 02/2021

John Scott Works David Straight
2018 / published 03/2019

folded eggs Bruce Connew
2012, 2014 / published 2018

The Gentle Hand + The Greedy Eye: an everday baroque practice in architecture Rachel Hurst
2014 / published 2016

Body of Work Bruce Connew
2013 / published 11/2015

I Drive You Crazy, to the Moon Bruce Connew
2007 / unpublished

I Must Behave Bruce Connew
2006 / published 2009

I Saw You Bruce Connew
2006 / published 2007

Stopover Bruce Connew
2000 / published 2007

Muttonbirds — part of a story Bruce Connew
2002 / published 2004

On the way to an ambush
Bruce Connew
1997 / published 1999

Vekst i det vanskelige
Hanne Johnsen
2012 / published 2013

A Short History of Photography Harvey Benge

Montana Estate Essay Series Four Winds Press
2002 and 2003

Cover Up: The Art of the Book Cover in New Zealand
Hamish Thompson

Looking for the Local — Architecture and the New Zealand Modern
Justine Clark and Paul Walker


Montana Estate Essay Series

Published by Four Winds Press, 2002 — 2003

They are lovely, pocket-sized works of design art to look at, each less than 60 pages ... they may even be works of literary art ... thoughtful, erudite and amusing.
Listener, Sept 14, 2002

These books marked the beginning of the publication of 12 essays to date. The first three were published in September, 2002. The series editor is Lloyd Jones, author of Mister Pip and Biografi.


catherine griffiths © 2011 / all rights reserved / contact / twitter / facebook / instagram /